BMT © 2004-2021
Magyar Electra
English title:
Hungarian Electra

opera in two acts and seven scenes

text after Péter Bornemisza’s drama entitled Tragedy in the Hungarian tongue, translated from Sophocles’ Electra (1558)

Place: Mycenaean kingdom

Time: the 1st and 2nd scenes of the Act I shortly after the end of the Trojan War, the other scenes twenty years later

duration: ca. 2 hours and 35 minutes
Act I ca. one hour and 5 minutes
Act II ca. one hour and 30 minutes

AEGISTUS, king - baritone
PARASITUS, servant of the king - tenor
CLITEMNESTRA, queen - soprano
ELECTRA, King Agamemnon's daughter - mezzo-soprano
CHRISOTHEMIS, Electra's sister - soprano
CHORUS, Electra's followers - 3 sopranos, 2 mezzo-sopranos, 2 contraltos
ORESTES, prince, Electra's brother - tenor
MESTER, Orestes' tutor - bass
Grieving girl - soprano
Guests, maids, servants, voices from far off, ladies-in-waiting, shadows - choirs
Two maids-of-honour to Clitemnestra, dancers - mute roles
Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, English Horn, 2 Clarinets in Bb, Bass Clarinet in Bb, 2 Bassoons, Contrabassoon

4 Horns in F, 3 Trumpets in C, 3 Trombones, Contrabass Tuba

Timpani, Snare Drum, 5 Tom-Tom Drums, Bass Drum, Conga Drums, Tambourine, Suspended Cymbal, Cymbals (a2), Tamtam, Jingle Bells, Tubular Bells, Triangle, Glockenspiel, Vibraphone, Marimba, 4 Wood Blocks, Maracas, Chimes, Glass Wind Chimes



Violins (I-II), Violas, Cellos, Double Basses
First performance
score - Act I
score - Act II
vocal score (with Creative Commons license)
libretto (in Hungarian)